Killers just having fun.

Continuing my trend of obsessing over the awesomeness that is The Killers, not only do I love their original material, but I love when they cover songs.

Recently, they covered Cyndi Lauper‘s “Girls Just Want to Have Fun” for the Yellow Bird Project at the Little Noise Sessions at Union Chapel.

Looks like too much fun. I can’t wait to see them in January.

I also want to note that Brandon Flowers is not wearing his hideous feathered jacket. This one in the video is more to my taste, but I still personally prefer his Hot Fuss days in the hot pink leather jacket:

And because I’m in the sharing mood, some of my other favorite Killers covers:

“Romeo and Juliet” by the Dire Straits, recorded for the live acoustic Abbey Road Sessions. Flowers was recovering from bronchitis that day, but I think he still sounds great. In fact, I think it adds an extra flair to the cover.

This cover of Joy Division‘s “Shadowplay” was used in the soundtrack to Control, the documentary about Joy Division frontman Ian Curtis‘ tragic life.

One of their first covers was of one of the band’s influences, Morrissey and his song “Why Don’t You Find Out For Yourself,” and while this is not an official music video, it uses pics of the band and their audio.

I have a few other Killers covers like The Beatles‘ “Helter Skelter,” David Bowie‘s “Moonage Daydream,” Kenny Rogers‘ “Ruby, Don’t Take Your Love to Town,” etc. They love to do covers and I love to hear them, so just because I didn’t post more videos, make sure you don’t stop here and I encourage you to search out more of their covers.

Leave a Reply

