The Cool List

Alright dear readers, I have some shocking news. Regretfully, “NME” the popular UK news site and music magazine has left me off of their “cool list” yet again. I don’t know what they were thinking. Instead, the declared Alice Glass of Crystal Castles as the coolest person of the year. Oh well, I guess I admit I love the electronica stylings of that group. I’m also pretty amused that she barely wanted to give “NME” the time of day when they tried to ask her if she was thrilled by this “honor.” That’s actually pretty cool.

I was pleased to see Gruff Rhys added to the list at number 44, not because I’m a huge fan, but because my beloved label, Saddle Creek has a a connection. I’m glad Brian Fallon of The Gaslight Anthem made the list as well. These Jersey boys are finally getting some much deserved attention. I hope to catch their set Dec. 10. Also a big shout out to Ezra Koenig of Vampire Weekend. I loved listening to “Oxford Comma” while doing editing homework and I think a lot of people would have been shocked if he hadn’t been on the list. I’m also not surprised that the other big buzz band from the year, MGMT had a member on the list, too.

While I love people like Muse‘s Matt Bellamy and Yeah Yeah YeahsKaren O, I was a bit shocked that they were still on the list despite a rather dormant year. They weren’t the only sleeper stars to make the list. I suppose when you are that cool, you don’t need to do anything to still be considered the coolest.

Now, I know you can already guess that I was thrilled to see Brandon Flowers himself actually make the list. Granted, I would have liked to see all The Killers on this list because I really think they are all that and a bag of chips.

My biggest disappointment: Scarlett Johansson. I’m sorry that I don’t worship the blonde, big breasted actress turned singer, but I don’t see the talent and I’m not swayed by her looks because I don’t swing that way. Her Tom Waits cover album was a huge waste of an album and I’m sad I even bothered to listen to it. Please get her off this list.

Something that really surprised me was that The Smiths / The Cribs / Modest Mouse member Johnny Marr was on the list as a new entry. This guy has been in music for so long that I can’t believe that this is the first time he would have been on the list. I guess singers like his bandmate in The Smiths, Morrissey, are usually the candidates to make the list, but still. It was about time he got on the list.

So what do you think? Anybody you shocked to see on the list or glad they made the cut?

Check out the list in full here.

Leave a Reply

