I Quit…Just Kidding

I don’t know what it is about music, but the term “break-up” or even “hiatus” doesn’t really seem to have any meaning in this industry. Whether this is a good thing, I’m not quite sure.

The reason I’m bringing this up is because I just read an article that said Weezer was already going back into the studio to record a follow-up to The Red Album, which just came out this summer. Now, recording follow-ups isn’t anything too strange, but for those who remember, Weezer had called it quits after the release of Make Believe. As much as I love this band, I was relieved when they said they were done because I do believe in quitting while ahead. Weezer has progressively gotten worse with each release and I just want them to stop making new music so I can stop defending myself whenever I try to say that I am still a fan of this group because their old music had been good.

On the other hand, I’m super excited about a particular prospective reunion tour. No, not the reunion of Midtown, which I know has a lot of people very excited, but something even better for this Kansas City writer. In 2005, KC heroes and kings of emo The Get Up Kids said farewell to the scene and dispersed into their side projects. Sure, New Amsterdams were basically a folk version of the Get Up Kids and Reggie and the Full Effect were just an odd version of music in general, so while the side projects were interesting, they had nothing on the original. This may make me sound really lame, but one of my biggest regrets in life is that I had an opportunity to be at their final, legendary show and I missed it. Fortunately, it sounds like I’m going to get a chance to fix my faux pas. James Dewees is completing his farewell tour for Reggie and the Full Effect (we’ll see if this really is farewell) and he suggested that in the spring fans can expect a reunion of the Get Up Kids for the 10th anniversary of Something to Write Home About. I will not miss this and since they are from the same area as I am, I am pretty sure I can count on a show within my driving range. Fingers crossed that this actually happens.

Now, some bands really do retire, but it seems like for so many, quitting is very temporary. It may take the power out of these farewell tours and albums, but one can almost expect that bands will reunite in at least a few years.

I guess that’s music. You can’t quit something that is the core of your very soul.

2 Responses

  1. hy, i’ve got pictures of my new emo hairstyle
    on http://tinyurl.com/59ps64

  2. oh man that’s amazing news about a reunion tour. I missed their final show in Toronto and have always regretted not being able to go.

    Thanks for the great article

Leave a Reply

