The Pro vs the Blogger

I, by no means would consider myself a professional music critic. However, now that I’ve entered the world of music critiquing over at PopWreck, I am curious what sort of clout I do carry.

Looking at PopWreck’s post hits, people definitely are looking to my reviews for information. Whether that influences their decision to buy a record, I don’t really know unless they should choose to comment.

Recently, I read a rather interesting article about how blogs have changed the way music is being reviewed. Check it out here. However, I don’t know if I agree that the digital era is making music reviews obsolete.

What I do know is that the internet is increasing competition. At least at my site, we do whatever we can to get ahead and sometimes that means reviewing an album stream so we can have the review up first. Graphics are a must if you want the hits.

Again, while I’m not a professional, I do know a lot more about music than your Average Joe, so I can make the necessary comparisons to classic groups and cite musical terminology, which apparently is what gives the critics’ an edge.

I guess time will tell if that article was on to something, but professional or not you still have to have a strong voice and be knowledgeable about the subject for people to read you. That’s an advantage I think I have.

2 Responses

  1. hey sexy. i…don’t buy albums. but i think you’re pretty badass. and i look at popwreckoning. and i’m happy you’re still blogging! hehe

  2. Aw! Yay! I’m so glad you are reading my sites and glad I’m still blogging.

Leave a Reply

